Everlane review

12 Jun

I have no idea if anyone is reading my blog at this point but I am still determined to get the truth about Everlane’s shitty clothes out there. I know that most blogs push everlane as THE place to buy basics. Yes, its easy to find one store to buy everything in my checklist. But how does the quality fare? A big fat zero my friends. In the past year I’ve purchased 6 items from Everlane. A silk tank, 3 cotton tees, a merino wool knit and a linen tank. All were purchased with my own money . Thereby you can rely on me for some truth.

Cotton quality: All 3 of my t-shirts have gotten comically large in the past year. I know that cotton shrinks after the first wash and then sort of billows later on but this was unexpected. It wouldn’t be that ridiculous if you forget that they are larger on me post partum than before my pregnancy. Yes, my thoughts precisely. $17-$20 was the average cost of the tees. Threw out the black one after 10 wears.

Knit quality: Admittedly I only have one piece of merino wool knit or silk to complain review about but hear me out. It has magically begun pilling (very mild) after 3 wears WITHOUT washing. Sigh..I did use a fine comb to remove them but they are going to require SO much babying in the next few years. $65 on sale you guys. Consider me pissed. Do you know who makes better quality knits? Joe fresh. Merino wool sweaters for $20 a piece. 60. That’s the number of times i’ve worn my olive green sweater before discarding it.

Silk quality: Moving on to my top most hated category. I wore the “silk” (HAHA I might as well get some laughs for my money) tank thrice before hand washing it like I do with all my other silks. It went in the way of Amanda Mcready, I mean gone baby gone! It is thoroughly wrinkled. There is a slightly visible stain, from what? That I do not know. It is not from any food particle. Perhaps the tank has some super power wherein it attracts stuff to result in nasty stains. If that seems far fetched to you, my next best  guess is the air that we breathe. Yesterday I heated my iron and tried to salvage it. It seems wearable now. But do you know what silk is supposed to be? Its a tough , semi-breathable fabric . $65 for low quality crepe. If you are in doubt, ask my $50 Ann taylor tank which I bought in 2010 and have worn atleast 20-30 times. It is in pristine condition by the way and will last another decade.

The linen tank has been the only saving grace for a such a widely acclaimed company. It seems durable and  the white has not faded . But I remain skeptical of Everlane. My 2 cents. Don’t waste your money supporting this dubious retailer.

 

4 Responses to “Everlane review”

  1. The Last Phoenix June 13, 2017 at 9:41 am #

    I havent even heard of Everlane..but am glad that I know not to go buy stuff from it! Thanks..and I read your posts as soon as they come up ! 🙂

    • balanceoriented June 14, 2017 at 11:07 am #

      Hey werent you going to do outfit photos? Readers await 🙂

      • The Last Phoenix July 5, 2017 at 4:16 pm #

        Haha!! I know..but I hardly ever go into work since summer holidays started..hopefully will start in late August. I am still iffy about it though..not sure if I want to open that can of worms 😛

      • balanceoriented July 6, 2017 at 1:34 pm #

        Start experimenting location and setting now. It has taken me 2 months to finalize everything and that too for just my personal diary.

Leave a Reply

