Slowing down

11 Mar

I opened this blog to jot down a few thoughts and noted to myself “Wow, 2 blog posts in less than a week” and realized it has been almost  2 weeks since my last post. Time flies I guess . The title is with reference to slowing down time, not slowing down life , so quite apt considering the timing.

I spent the better part of last week/weekend being unproductive. I didn’t finish any of my books, watched over 45 mins of tv each day  (1.5 hrs on one occasion), couldn’t do any intense workout thanks to a foot injury that persists and doing only 6 hours of office work per day . At the end of the week I feel like I achieved a few things but I felt I had not done my best and was not content.

I have over 4 books in rotation now and one of them had an interesting theory. Start the day by doing the thing you want to do the most. In other words, if you goto bed thinking “I wish I had done this today” then start the next day with that activity.  Several years back I read about a Russian physicist who had the habit of waking up at 3:30am. He worked from 4am-noon. When asked why he remarked “So that I get my work done before half the day is over”. I think he hit the nail on the head.  David Rock says that lack of stress makes people less productive. A mild stress element is required to increase output and I have to agree with this. Setting any deadline of sorts is better than giving myself endless time to do something. Finally, inhibiting distracting thoughts is vital to expanding time.

Today I reviewed my week and things look pretty good. Hope it stays this way.

2 Responses to “Slowing down”

  1. samakris March 18, 2016 at 5:59 pm #

    Dale Carnegie’s prescription is “stop fuming and fretting”. Something we are doing during entire waking hours, on matters most triviyal to most profound. Always wasteful. Even a little of this exercise releases vast reserves of energy.

    Incidentally 4 AM is brahma muhurtham when the body and mind are in top form, that is for people with moderate habits. There will be no disturbing interruptions.

    • balanceoriented March 25, 2016 at 2:05 pm #

      Scientists today say humans need 7-8 hours not 6 hours of sleep as was once thought. Even if I goto bed at 10pm(as if) thats after 5pm when i can wake up. 4am seems quite impossible, especially considering i’d be sleepy by noon. :p

Leave a Reply

