On creative people and opinions

29 Feb

A foot injury  comes with a set of perks. One is that low physical exercise implies more energy that can tapped into mental exercise. This is me in a nutshell these past few weeks. A lot of “free” time means there are a lot of thoughts brewing in the mind cauldron.

A tangent that I often revisit is on the subject of varying opinions on several matters. Of course, opinions are like hair, everyone has a ton. Is choosing a side indicative of decisiveness or stubbornness? What about agreeing with both sides of an argument? Is it indecisiveness or steadiness? Isn’t it more valuable to see both sides of a point? The former is thought to indicative of a strong personality and the latter is considered a generally affable quality. After reading a few different takes by psychologists on this I will summarize my thoughts:

Common people typically choose one side or support both sides. A second type remains wishy washy and will choose the midpoint between both and support that. However the creative individual  is in-between. Such individuals have a complex personality and will be at times decisive and at times indecisive. This is because they are capable of the entire range of traits that multitude of people possess. All those who don’t possess the trait could still be creative.

That said, in his book , a leading psychologist refers to truly creative people i.e people whose name will go down in the annals of history for making novel contributions to humanity. He insists that there is no single uniting demographic , rather certain similar characteristics.  This is highly appealing because it ties in with the notion that creativity can occur everywhere , only a spark is needed. Do you agree?

4 Responses to “On creative people and opinions”

  1. the phoenix February 29, 2016 at 2:57 pm #

    This post is really close to my heart! I had blogged about it superficially as well..I feel that in an argument I am always a weak-spot! As I see it whenever there is an argument, the person on each side of the argument is convinced they are right. And to me every argument is good. I tend to keep an open mind when deciding my support. I am always not sure if I have ALL the information to make an informed decision. Except for some key values I am always game to change…
    Also I recommend if you get get your hands on a copy reading Creativity Inc by Ed Catmull. It is a course book for me but somehow I feel it’s a good guide for Creativity. (And I am the last one to suggest non fiction books)

    • balanceoriented February 29, 2016 at 5:36 pm #

      I knew I recognized the name 🙂 Ed Catmull’s book sounds promising, I’ll have to check it out. I am glad to see that there is yet another soul who is open to arguments. Like you, I have a stand on certain things but on many matters find myself seeing both sides of an argument before settling down on one. On one occasion 6 years back when i postponed making a decision (thinking the time was not ripe for one) someone remarked to me “I prefer people who make a decision and support it till the end than someone who cannot make up their mind”. I ruminated on whether it was a weakness of mine. However, after reading quite a bit on the topic I think there is nothing specially wrong being in any of the 3 categories!

      • the phoenix February 29, 2016 at 6:56 pm #

        Absolutely..and there are certain situations which demand immediate decisions but certain decisions just dont seem to have an answer..my greatest weakness is having to postmortem all my decisions..I am going to do it whether I made that decision quickly or took my time with it!

  2. samakris March 11, 2016 at 7:17 am #

    I read the blog and comments with great interest. Though I can not join the debate with a matching perspective (due to wide generation gap), I have heard and felt a lot on decision making during my service.

    The methodology I devised for myself, and tried to follow are:

    Never make a decision under pressure, due to panic or in haste without full facts.

    In matters requiring professional scrutiny, like medical,legal,financial fields I will leave substantive decisions to qualified,competent, trusted persons. I will remember that attitudes can overwhelm facts in these matters. I will not torture myself contemplating all possibilities thereby weakening myself.

    In matters within my competence I will have groups of counselors to advise me.

    On desicions gone haywire, I will admit my error rather than justify myself.

    I will not worry if others take credit for my good decisions( I worked mostly in Government and Public Sector).

Leave a Reply

