The sensitive skin struggle

12 Dec

Disclaimer: Worrying about skin is shallow and documenting it can be construed as especially vain, I acknowledge that is in fact the case with me. This is a fun blog I will never make anything when you click on any post.

This past year my skin has reared its ugly head. It looks dull, uneven, breaks out atleast 2-3 times a month and then leaves a giant dark spot making it look more uneven. .  I tried many things , mostly from 100% pure and went one month without trying anything and learned a few things.

->  FOr some reason my regular facewash was making my skin too oily. I switched to Dr.Bronners and used it according to the instructions. I used this Vitamin-C serum in lieu of the ester-c serum. The primary reason is that the second one leaves your hand sticky and has a strange smell. I bought a new lipstick from MAC which i love. I also tried the lip tint from lush . Don’t ever buy it, on two occasions it made my lips bloat up to 2x the size. I ended up using it like sidewalk chalk.

-> I had tiny flareups on my forehead for 3 whole months starting from late spring..  NOTHING helped. After a lengthy trial I have concluded that in summer the best thing I can do for my skin in leave it alone . I finally bought this spray moisturizer and went one month with using my body wash/ the one moisturizer .

-> Right now my skin looks dull and I started usign the vitamin c serum again along with cherry coffee cream moisturizer. This is a medium strength moisturizer, perfect for me.Dont recommend it for women who need extra moisturizing.

-> Facial skin is very thin. I read an article that said moisturizers applied on the face absorb faster than the rest of the body. So last winter I moved my entire facial care to natural/organic . I tried a few serums: This brightening one and this super fruits one.  The first one was good but not better than the rest. However, combined with the entire brightening line (I had samples) it had a great effect. The second one goes on like an oil. I gave samples to a few of my friends who loved it. I think i have a few more if you are interested.  I used mine and wont repurchase , it was too oily for me.

Finally, a few other things I’ve tried:

-> Body Wash: I love the 100%pure body washes but they are priced significantly higher than other prices. Some of the body washes dont need a moisturizer afterwards. Then again, this is what I found with the cheap neutrogena body wash.

-> Body butter/moisturizers/scrubs – THe body butter is outstanding. The rest are mediocre. Still, the only thing that helped get rid of scales in my feet is the cetaphil moisturizing cream.  Oh, HOW I WISH this had a scent to it. @#$!

-> Makeup: Honestly, if you use makeup then give this one a try. I am paranoid about applying chemical based makeup and the only things I use apart from my 100% pure line are the benefit magic ink eyeliner and MAC lipstick. Infact I bought the black tea eyeliner from 100% pure and it actually goes on better. No reason to buy high priced junk anymore when high priced good stuff is available.

 

9 Responses to “The sensitive skin struggle”

  1. the phoenix December 12, 2015 at 8:18 pm #

    We recently switched to dr bronners as well..all of us in the family are using it.for hair though when I use it its a little annoying so I use dove like once in three weeks..
    For body moisturizer we went old school and only use thengai ennai and i have been using it for my face as well..i can see a lot of difference..it is slightly infused with rosemary that I added.I can send you an article that has oil deep conditioning for the face.. Another thing was the body butter that I made at home in between (will go back to it in summer)- that was awesome as well.
    A friend had issues with skin and she used apsara products and swears they have made a difference..if you are into natural stuff you should give it a shot.
    And no I don’t feel its vain talking about beauty- It is a major confidence booster to look and feel good. And lot of my confidence comes from it 😛 (maybe now I am vain?! JK) Also sorry for butting in with more stuff.

    • balanceoriented December 13, 2015 at 10:27 am #

      Phoenix thanks a lot for your comment, no formalities please about butting in etc… Can you send me the article when you can. DO you break out from applying coconut oil? I use a coconut oil/shea butter mixture for my lips which I bought . Do you ahve homemade recipes that are not messy to make . :p I get tiny bumps whenever i use oil on my face so I really want soemthing that works. . What is Apsara product?Is it available in US?

      • the phoenix December 16, 2015 at 9:56 pm #

        Whattt! I posted a reply earlier..Do i have to repost it? I dont see it here..

      • balanceoriented December 17, 2015 at 7:34 am #

        Checked my inbox for comments, theres nothing there either. post again when you get time?

      • the phoenix December 19, 2015 at 10:15 am #

        definitely something wrong..my comments are not cooming through..i was pretty sure this time when i hit the yes comment button..i will mail you separately

  2. meenasehar December 13, 2015 at 10:24 am #

    talking about skin is shallow-a????I have to go and die now!Natural is good,although i am still on high priced junk,but i have this weird weird skin type on which nothing works.save some samples for me,

    • the phoenix December 13, 2015 at 10:52 am #

      Your skin is super duper soft! 🙂 I envy your smooth smooth legs and cheeks like all the time!! 🙂

      • meenasehar December 13, 2015 at 3:35 pm #

        hahahha…i wish SK says something like this once a while!!!!

    • balanceoriented December 13, 2015 at 1:41 pm #

      I posted becos I am told I am shallow . I am ok with being classified in that way 😄if high priced junk works for you that’s good mk. I moved to natural because I run on paranoia and the hippy organic consumer world depends on the likes of me. Will give u samples next time.

Leave a Reply

