Meditation and other self medication

18 Nov

Is meditation a feasible solution for handling stress? I hope so. It took me 3.5 months to motivate myself and after much deliberation I tried and managed to meditate for exactly 4.5 minutes today. I just can not sit still.It is easier to run around, work out and be active .

I wonder if most humans really shed our simian ancestral trait. Passive qualities don’t manifest that easily. I hope it will come in time. I know only one person who meditates and he claims that it helps in staying calm, reducing temper and in pursuing a less material life.

I read a very interesting article about setting life goals . The author is a self made young deca-millionaire . Based on his suggestions I am penning my life goals:

  1. Be less shallow – a) Will go 30 days without buying new material stuff. b) Will spend less than 1 percent of time thinking about buying new stuff .
  2. Help the less fortunate – a) Volunteer in the season of sharing or b)Donate substantially to my favorite cause
  3. Do a kind deed a day – This will be simple. Bring fresh mochas for Ani’s daycare teachers or let some cut in front of me while driving or help mentor a struggling co-worker etc.

I wont list material goals like career/life because thats active in the mind. My mind deserves a swift  kick to bring forth thoughts that have been kicked to the curb for not being important.

4 Responses to “Meditation and other self medication”

  1. samakris November 21, 2015 at 7:38 pm #

    The classic easy meditation is observing our in and out breathing cycle. This can be sustained for long periods. It results in reducing the number of cycles per unit time and brings physical and emotional health.

    Equally strongly recommended is “soot removal”. The core of one’s consciousness is bliss, but this is obscured by layers of ignorance. Dig out and discard negative emotions like grief, fear, worry, grudge, jealousy, resentment, greed,anger, superciliousness, confusion,etc. This meditation works miracles on body and mind.

    Ano

    • balanceoriented November 21, 2015 at 8:53 pm #

      I love “soot removal”!! I am badly in need of some soot removal/

  2. the phoenix November 23, 2015 at 10:06 am #

    I like your ideas..I am trying something similar along the lines of positive thoughts. It is so hard because my mind immediately jumps to the the most negative of options. I have to constantly re align them and decide not to dwell on the negatives,,,I do like the idea of meditation and I am going to give it a shot as well..:)

    • balanceoriented November 24, 2015 at 10:31 am #

      Hope it works out for you. I think that as long as we understand that a certain thought is negative and try to work on it, that is progress by itself. One step at a time!

Leave a Reply

