When curated is about half a globe away

22 Aug

I’ve been meaning to do a wardrobe update since the great purge of 2015. I do my laundry every 2-3 weeks (hangs head in shame) so that means ateast 10-15 tops. I wear my pants/jeans atleast 3-4 times before washing so those are less worrisome. I dont think of my wardrobe as curated, but it kind of works for me.

IL’s are generously doing the laundry now so my closet is almost full except for a couple of clothes in the hamper.

This is my tops section. Wow does it look lackluster! I feel they look better on me though. A point to be noted is that beige, white, black and blue fill about 90% of my professional wardrobe. If they were shirts then one could not distinguish whether a man or a woman owned these . Infact the clothes in the hamper are both beige. Haha. There is some pink in the corner though. These are thrown in for good measure. Also these prove that I am female.


The other half is my casual kurta collection which I relegate to weekends or to run errands. I really like the leggings trend in India. So easy to mix&match.


Oh here hangs the pants/jeans (there are 2 missing pants) but I probably have about 6 in all. And there is a really tiny dress collection . Half of it can only be worn in winter. Out of the other 3, 2 are super form fitting so each piece gets worn once in 3 months. Maybe once in 6.


Ah this is my favorite part . I have 6 pencil skirts and 4 get worn pretty regularly to work in the summer. The rest are all flowing/wrap around type skirts . Other than the silk skirts I use them  often enough.

I didn’t show pics of my top drawer (because you know, STALKERS online), or my salwar drawer or my sweaters. The only thing I wish I had the patience to show is my accessories collection which has grown a lot thanks to gifts,donations and rarely purchases that I made. Oh I do have a sizable scarf collection. 8 maybe. Thats 2 more than the number of pants I own.

6 Responses to “When curated is about half a globe away”

  1. the phoenix August 22, 2015 at 8:18 pm #

    Wow..I love individual houses for this reason..my closet is actually full of stacked suitcases and they have the clothes in them!! So its gets messy after a while looking through and searching through them! I wish I had a bigger closet if only to be able to see what I have! 😛 If and when I start working I wish I could start a blog for outfits..only thing being- I am afraid it has been done to death already! 😛
    Accessories!! Please please put them up..I am in a major spree for earrings..although they probably will not see the light of the day..I want more inspiration!

    • balanceoriented August 23, 2015 at 6:48 am #

      Thats tough . Seriously though , when I lived in an apartment I had some expensive / mobile solutions for wardrobe space . Look into them ? And I would love to see outfits on you , there
      Is not much representation from Indian women actually . Don’t count ones that are outlandish ( who wears Kurtas over looooonnngg skirts for work ?) .

    • balanceoriented August 23, 2015 at 7:10 am #

      Inexpensive*

  2. meenasehar August 23, 2015 at 10:46 pm #

    I dumped the babies with SK one weekend and headed to Macy’s so I can FINALLY shop for real clothes – have’t shopped in a long while except for maternity clothes.I spent 5 hours in the cosmetic section and had enough time only to quickly grab a cookie.I don’t know when..DONT KNOW WHEN..i can shop for clothes!!!And accessories too!!!!

    • balanceoriented August 24, 2015 at 6:28 am #

      Alright mk, I will go with you through the annoying clothes shopping excursion . You are 3 months pp . Time to go nuts and celebrate the non belly . And you are making me feel bad for buying unnecessary stuff 😛. Summer Is my shopping season( apart from thanksgiving timeframe ) . Oh I want to know what u got in the 5 hrs though .. You

      • meenasehar August 24, 2015 at 2:29 pm #

        Lots of good stuff.I will do a makeup post soon.

Leave a Reply

