On the hunt

27 Jun

I definitely need pieces for work and need a smaller streamlined wardrobe. I can wear most of my clothing outside work, especially during weekends and on vacation but for work I have really tried to dress for success. It has worked out well for me and I am definitely getting ahead. Looking put together makes me more confident . People notice me now and that’s good enough because all I really need is a chance.

Starting July (thru september) my next round of budget reopens. I have a few goals this time.  In a few months I should stop staring at my closet and wondering what I should wear. Well, this has always been my goal but I kind of identified what I like and what I don’t. I wish I had done this before.

What do I like?

1) Structured pieces in all colors.

2) Shirts, silky blouses, blazers, well fitting pants , dark wash jeans, opaque tights in dark colors only, longer pencil skirts, smaller A-line skirts, polished dresses and knee length tailored shorts . Actually will never wear anything more 2 inches below my knees to work. Oh, I love my 2 silk wrap around skirts. I swear I get compliments every time.

3) Occasionally work in Indian tunics, loose blouses (but only in solids).

What do I never wear to work?

1) Salwars or anything which is very Indian in nature.

2) Patterned loose blouses. I really don’t like wearing flowers, paisley prints, bright rose or green color etc.. I find that a lot of my clothes (mostly gifted) fit into this category and I have to force myself to wear them. SIGH!! If anyone is reading and wants to take these clothes, please let me know! 🙂

3) Extremely tight pants (one of my pants can never be buttoned), linen pants (have two and I have only worn one of them and that was on ONE occasion), patterned pants, light color denim. Who wants a size 27 brand new blue linen pant for free?

4) Shorter pencil skirts, pastel color skirts, suede skirts. I want to say that of the 7 skirts that I own , about 4 of them get regular use. I really need to give away the rest.

My next effort is to identify stuff to throw away, keep, donate or alter. At the end of it I want around 10-12 blouses, 3-4 pants, 2 blazers and a few skirts.

3 Responses to “On the hunt”

  1. meenasehar June 28, 2015 at 9:20 pm #

    I want to shop and buy a lotttt of stuff…don’t have the figure and time for it now..hopefully soon!!!

    • balanceoriented June 29, 2015 at 5:32 am #

      Both time and figure are just around the corner MK (come on you have a 4 week old!!). Actually make time for yourself right away. I miss shopping in real life. So bored of online purchases.

  2. samakris July 2, 2015 at 6:29 am #

    Dress proclaims a person. Dress boosts confidence. In addition to self-appraisal, it would be a good idea to seek advice/opinion from trusted friends. Celebrities do this systematically.

Leave a Reply

