Quick Recipes

29 Mar

This blog doesnt have much viewership/comments but I am actively looking for quick things to cook. Here is our dinner staple. This week and next week I am eating lunch outside(hangs head in shame). I dont have time to make lunch for next day despite the fact icook dinner in 30 mins or less.

Weekday recipes: These are the following which take least time that I have to put in , nevermind soaking times.

1) Upma – 2 mins to roast rava + 5 mins to chop veggies + 10 mins to ‘cook’.

2) Semi kichadi – same as above.

3) Adai – 5 min to soak + 2 mins to grind + 5 mins to add chopped veggies. Making them is a breeze.

4) If I have batter

  1. Idli – 5mins prep . 5 mins for chutney.
  2. Dosa – No prep. Making directly , but have to make more.
  3. Uthapam – 5-10 mins to chop veggies but

5) Pulao – Hubs chops veggies. I soak rice in the meanwhile nad grind masala. Takes 15 mins to finally close the lid.

6) pasta/soup – i have stopped making these (maybe do it once a month) because it takes 20 mins for me to chop veggies for either.

See? I dont seem to spend much time cooking. So where am I going wrong? Why dont I ever have time to make lunch for next day? How do I multitask? Its a pain in the bum to drive out to get food (my cafetaria food sucks majorly).

8 Responses to “Quick Recipes”

  1. meenasehar March 29, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

    Subha..most of the time when i fail to cook,it is because I wake up late and the dishwasher has not been loaded.
    if i am up around 7:30 or even 8,i can quickly make something for lunch
    and don’t always target to make elaborate kozhambu/vegetable recipes.
    one pot meals are easier..like paruppu satham,lemon satham,puli satham,carrot satham,capsicum rice,thayir saatham – this is what i make most of the time with vegetables that can be quickly cut – like brinjal,potato,cauliflower,cabbage,keerai.

    parupu satham is the easiest – cook together pasiparupu and rice with jeera,green chili,vendhayam,turmeric,ghee,salt and perungayam. then quickly chop keerai and sauté it with some onions (you can skip it too) chill,jeer and mustard.that is all i take for lunch most days.tis sufficient i think.

    • balanceoriented March 29, 2013 at 3:29 pm #

      I like the concept of making mixed rice. But how do you quickly cut keerai or cauliflower? I think I must watch and learn.

  2. gomicrobes March 29, 2013 at 1:14 pm #

    I usually cook for lunch in the morning.

    Moong dal (any dal) + Rice (or samba) in the pressure cooker as soon as I wake up, boil any veggie (pumpkins, frozen veggie) in the saucepan (on low heat, covered)— all these will get done by the time I take a shower. Mixing dal/veg/kootu podi/kadugu doesn’t take longer than 2 mins. I also make some “kai – veggie” but only if I am up early enough…

    Variety of kootus and rice (or chappati) always works for me. Vidalia chopper / pressure cooker are my best pals. Of course this doesn’t happen every single day… there are days when things go completely crazy!!

    I also love Manjula ‘s recipes for making north Indian dals (peas, channa, beans, whole mung), again it takes very very little time – no masala and is easy on the stomach (goes well, with rice/samba/quinoa/chappti)

    What I describe is food.. not particularly super tasty/super spiced, but it works 🙂 If it takes more than 15 mins to stand in front of the stove, then it is not worth it in the morning (God knows how my mom managed!!)

    ps: I don’t make chappati from the scratch in the morning.. its always the pre-made uncooked desi roti.

    • balanceoriented March 29, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

      Great ideas here.
      I dont care for ‘super tasty’. Nutritious, flavorful and healthy is all I care about .

  3. Thelastphoenixsong March 29, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

    You could try these for dosa- raagi, wheat, rava. Does bread upma also classify as nutritional food? 😛
    Oh and sometimes I deliberately make more idlis/chapathi at nights, so in the morning I can make upma(adding tomato-onion-garlic-ginger-chilli-salt).
    I also have the usual packet of raagi semiya-1 minute soak, 4-5 minute cook in Idli cooker. Add this to sauteed onion and seasoning.

    • balanceoriented March 30, 2013 at 9:01 am #

      Super ideas. Absolutely LOVE the upma idea. But do you mean to say you make chapathi upma? Have never heard of that .
      Where do you find raagi semiya ?

      • Thelastphoenixsong March 30, 2013 at 11:24 am #

        Manna brand raagi smeiya is available in New India Bazar in Milpitas. Chapathi upma was a knock off of from kothu parotta. I had some leftover chapathi so decided to try it out..

  4. samakris March 30, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

    Amma-Take veggies like potato,capsicum,carrot,beans,peas,onion,tomato, etc. Cut every veg into big cubes, except onion. chop onion fine. Put cooker on stove, add oil . Splutter pepper, jeerakam, pattai, lavangam, somfu, elakkai, biryani leaves. Saute for one minute, add onion, after one more minute add veggies and saute for two three minutes. Then,add rice and saute for one minute. Then add twice (the rice) volume of water. Add turmeric and salt. Close lid, and presssure cook. . Must be ready in 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

