Bullies

29 Mar

I had an interesting experience this week. There is a forum I frequent (but don’t post much) after work everyday.  I don’t particularly participate on all topics , just the ones I need information on(travelling, investments etc). In all my time there I have less than 20 posts while some women post that much a day (who has time for THAT?) .

Anyway this week I mentioned a fact about India(didn’t mention by name, just ‘my home country’) whilst saying nothing about U.S. One woman(who has well over 5000 posts) jumped on me saying that my opinion on US was false. I responded and pointed out that I had given no opinion about US but was stating what I knew. Another woman quickly defended her, told me that the fact on ‘my country’ was wrong and asked me to stay on topic. I hesitated to reply and eventually ignored it.

Now, this got me wondering about bullies – the ones that always stick to each other and try to kick you, insult you , call you names, assert their opinion etc.. When I was young I was bullied A LOT for being skinny. I used to confide in my mother and with her support I have largely stood up for myself or ignored them. I grew past that stage and thought most people did. Today  though, I was surprised to see that these women , well past their prime , trying to intimidate me. I wasn’t upset because I know how to tackle bullies. For instance , in this case, an American woman was telling me that my knowledge of my home country is inferior to my own. But how many people know this? I learned an important lesson. Some people never grow up.

How do you tackle bullies (in real life or in cyber-world)

4 Responses to “Bullies”

  1. Thelastphoenixsong March 29, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

    I seem to hear a lot of this kind of cyber bullying. Another friend went through a similar situation and was actually kicked out of the forum. I don’t understand why should we apologize for holding an opinion that is not the same as others. I suggest that you ignore them. Like you said you had already stated that it was your opinion. I have often felt a certain kind of anger and frustration when people refuse to accept my point of view without getting where I come from!

    • meenasehar March 30, 2013 at 10:53 am #

      Phoenix,i was reminded of what AM did on the quiz forum.

      • Thelastphoenixsong March 30, 2013 at 11:22 am #

        lol..yeah!

    • balanceoriented March 30, 2013 at 11:07 am #

      Agreed. I was unpleasantly surprised because my father always says ‘People change with age’. I don’t think this is necessarily true.
      I didn’t blow up the situation because there are some people who thrive on that kind of anger.

Leave a Reply

