Humongous House Task List

20 Sep

MK shared a blog post a while back w.r.t home projects. I wanted to start after IL’s reached safe, for sentimental reasons. They did, yesterday. So I started mine today .

Immediate Tasks:

1) Take out an entire suitcase of clothes (mostly mine but has maternity pieces & R’s as well) and add them to current wardrobe .

  • I quick-cataloged(word I’ve made up) all our western clothes (casual & good ones), Indian clothes and winter wear. – DONE
  • Need to arrange everything between 2 sets of hanger space, 2 chests and 2 hanging shelves. I expect to have plenty of space.
  • Finally, my favorite part, need to get rid of overused items and outfits that have far exceeded their CPW(cost-per-wear).
  • I am also going to put expensive clothes in the place I will reach the most so they can start justifying their price. Hmph.
  • Oh, I also arranged all of my jewellery at the bottom of my bathroom shelf. I am so happy this is done and I can finally do justice to under utilized earrings, chains, necklaces, pendants etc. I have over 30 pairs of earrings and I am pretty sure that most of these things were gifts. I probably bought like 10% of what I own.

2) Re-arrange Kitchen so that it is set to my cooking ideas.

  • I had a head start on this on Sunday. I started by filling my most used groceries in front slots. – DONE
  • Need to hide 6 person utensils at the hind corners of my unreachable shelves (seriously, kitchen designers need to start thinking out-of-the-box).
  • Need to put half of my 8 person cutlery set in storage.
  • Need to clear out the oven and make space.
  • Need to put away stuff that I will use once a fortnight in storage (I might have to conjure up storage). These include grinder, panini maker, spare parts for my awesome food processor etc.
  • Clean the pantry and take stock of urgent items. But I have my list so this has to be easy.

3) Come up with a system to deal with Ani’s toys, clothes, baby gear.

  • Clean Ani’s crib which is filled with crap.
  • Buy a new diaper bag. This one will tear shortly.

4) Clean the house.Despite listing this at the bottom, cleanliness ranks higher than orderliness in my mind.

  • I meticulously cleaned the kitchen, sink, microwave glass plate and stove-top last night. This only needs to be maintained henceforth – DONE
  • Also cleaned my refrigerator and threw away expired cheese(s), jellies, sauces and some unidentified stuff 😀  – DONE
  • Still need to basic clean the rest of the house/vaccum etc. But all this will only be done for a few weeks. After that our regular maid will start coming and taking care of this. Seriously, this is the best idea that R ever had.

5) Stock the refrigerator and freezer.

  • Before MIL left I made some sundried-tomato paste and froze it in ice cube trays. I popped them and wrapped them in aluminium foil and placed them in the freezer. I use these individual packs in pasta, soups, sandwiches, stews, casseroles etc for flavor.
  • Also froze some cooked Cannelini beans and Black Chick peas.
  • TODO – Freeze some sauces/lentils and  legumes.

Phew! What a tiring and need I say boring to anybody other than me list. But there ya have it!

6 Responses to “Humongous House Task List”

  1. meenasehar September 20, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    Phew!!!!What a great start!!!!!

    I love the term CPW 🙂
    Closet organization is something I have been postponing for a long time now..
    Now that you have given some motivation,I hope i finish it this weekend.
    Good luck on all your Action Items 🙂

    • balanceoriented September 20, 2012 at 10:56 am #

      Thanks! I got a migraine reading through my list again.

  2. Thelastphoenixsong September 20, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

    Oh god..this sounds like you have given a lot of thought- all the best..it is wonderful to hear how organised you ladies are..makes me bristle all over wanting to start some project that will no doubt be character building as well as tiring..but then my present character re-asserts itself and all is well and fine for now! No more projects for now..:) thats me a lazy bum..
    on a side note- you have a panini maker? how totally awesome..MK was telling me what a lovely cook you are..

    • meenasehar September 20, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

      Ahem!!!!So says the woman who has ABSOLUTELY nothing out of place in her house.
      KJ..her kitchen sink looks brand new..and y?..this house has never seen a sink full of soiled vessels….every vessel is quickly serviced and left to dry.

      • meenasehar September 20, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

        and about the projects,isn’t someone a quiz champion????

      • balanceoriented September 20, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

        I thought so. I can easily believe her house is sparkling clean. Phoenix – Are you sure you have no projects because you don’t need any? 🙂
        On a side note, MK was lying about my cooking. My food is barely edible but not for want of trying 🙂

Leave a Reply

