Countdown begins

26 Aug

I had a fantastic weekend , read tons of shopping, family time with a quickie visit from bro,s-i-l & niece  and winding down after lunch with extended family. Oh before I forget, a kick ass game of carrom board with the family. To me this is the acme point in the next 2 months. As we drove down after dropping my uncle , aunt and cousin at their room I felt really down. I came home and spent the next 90 minutes packing / cleaning like a crazy woman to try to forget the fact that my IL’s are leaving for India soon.

I didn’t want to sound depressed and I have been avoiding this post forever but the feelings exist so a post is only fair. Whenever I have family staying over with us I grumble so much at their departure. I guess easy goodbyes are a myth. I mentioned to R “Hey, in a few weeks I won’t be motivated to going out. I won’t feel like shopping. When we come home from work there will be no one at home”. I am going to miss amma and appa so much. I hope the baby won’t be deprived of her grandparents.

Also, when I think of the insane amount of work that needs to get done before Dec 2012 I feel nauseated. By the time I am done with the goodbyes etc.. it will be winter. Let’s face it. It will be cold outside. Sun sets by 4pm. Vacations are a joke. No No, Shake it off Girl. Shake off the bad vibes. Any advice people?

8 Responses to “Countdown begins”

  1. Thelastphoenixsong August 26, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

    Et tu?!! I have R’s amma appa leaving in oct too! I think the best thing is to just get into the daily stuff and try not to think too much about happier times!

    • meenasehar August 26, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

      And guess what?Am going to miss both of your MILs 😦

      • gomicrobes August 27, 2012 at 8:13 am #

        Hey Meena,

        Thanks a lot for the wonderful gift… we were going to come upstairs yesterday but we got “lost”. Sarngini loved the books. She needed very little help to read them, the pictures were wonderful too. Thanks again!! Priya

      • balanceoriented August 27, 2012 at 9:24 am #

        M – LOL, you are no help 🙂

  2. gomicrobes August 27, 2012 at 8:17 am #

    We all raise to the occasion Amrutha!! Not to worry…. you are not the first to tread this path. It would seem daunting at first, then things will fall into a rhythm.

  3. balanceoriented August 27, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    Yep. I need to let drown in the humdrum of daily life and to remember that everyone has treat similar paths. Scary thoughts.

  4. meenasehar August 27, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    hey Priya..am glad Sarngi liked the books 🙂
    We must meet next time!

  5. samakris August 27, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    The solicited advice is given in this eighth comment (8 is an auspicious number, why?)

    Whether at work or at home, at Sunset time contemplate the meanings of sunset. The day is a lifetime in a nutshell. Say to yourself “I am the Sun, I grow or shrink, I change colours, I am overcome by clouds, I have blemishes, I am blessed and cursed, I go down, but bounce back!”

    After Sunset keep saying “calm, easy, slowly, sweetly, gently, etc.,” in respect of every activity- to oneself or to others. Bring down the tempo and excitement. Our elders used to recite beautiful songs praising the Lord at Sunset.

    This will result in internal quiet. Go to bed emptying all cares into the lap of the Lord.
    Sleep is nature’s gift for self-renewal.

    Wake up when it is still dark. Use alarm, it may be very very difficult in the beginning, but kick yourself out of bed. Feel the fresh air, at least momentarily, even of it is freezing outside. It will be like a quick shot of energy tonic. The predawn sounds are so sweet anywhere in the world. Again there are recitations recommended.

    If these two physical steps are taken, most of our anxieties will vanish, and those that linger will not bother us.

Leave a Reply

