Trying to quit coffee again

30 Jul

This will be my third attempt. First time I was ‘clean’ for 10 days(back in 2009). The second time was during my pregnancy , when I had severe aversion towards coffee. So I went sans coffee for a grand total of 34 weeks. I started quickly postpartum as a way to ‘cheer up’ and to stay alert. But I’ve realized what I am too proud to admit. I can get addicted to coffee quickly. The one cup in the morning doesn’t seem enough. I crave one at 1pm and another at 4pm and have to get my ‘fix’ at work. Sometimes I’ll conveniently forget to mention this at home and get one at 6:30pm. Enough is enough. I am going to quit coffee as a habit and I am hoping to get to the point where it will strictly be a recreational drink on simulated long drives. Heheh..have to thank my Bro and SIL for the feeling.

6 Responses to “Trying to quit coffee again”

  1. gomicrobes July 30, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

    Suggestion – instead of cold quitting (which is very very hard), you can reduce the volume of consumption. That is what I am doing now.

    • balanceoriented July 30, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

      Hey P..this is the 3rd day and I am getting mild headaches. Drinking tea now but I HATE tea. It is NOT a replacement for the liquid heaven that is coffee. Will try your idea.

      • samakris July 31, 2012 at 8:27 am #

        A coffee enthusiast myself, I am surprised that tea is not doing justice. My long stay in the North, where quality coffee is scarce, made me happy with tea. Even now, if I feel weak or hungry in the late afternoons, and not confident about a snack, tea serves as an excellent filler and stimulant. At such times coffee (if not taken with some solid refreshment) only aggravates the position.

      • balanceoriented August 2, 2012 at 9:48 am #

        I repeat. Tea doesn’t do for me what coffee does. Tea is OK as a substitute. But it is a poor one. :p

  2. meenasehar August 1, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    I need my caffeine fix at work.
    So i drink two around 125 ml cups one in the morning and one in the evening!
    Do you drink an entire tall latte every time???

Leave a Reply

