Is my daughter stronger than what I think?

4 Jul

We went on a hike to Mission Peak park yesterday. I expected to reach the first bench and then make the return. But we made it up to the final bench! What made this hike unique was that my baby was on my back the whole time (except maybe a few minutes on everyone’s arms).

Highlights:

1) Baby wanted to eat just ONCE in the 4 hours.

2) The ascent was great and I had a great time. I love it when random strangers compliment my baby. What mother doesn’t?

3) But once we reached the top I became paranoid. With good reason. The sunlight was disappearing fast and we started the descent well after dark. I was so afraid that the baby would wake up and scream (this is why we can never take a walk after dark. She screams and screams until there is some light). She did wake up as expected. Surprisingly, quarter way down , she was still calm and had a great time looking at the moon. I can’t explain it well but her serenity calmed me down a lot and I finally relaxed enough to have fun.

4) I still struggled to maintain balance though. Unlike everyone else who could walk slowly, my feet wouldn’t let me go at a slower pace. R suggested that I try to hike up and down more often. Good news: My energy level was almost the same. Bad news: I almost ran the way down. I just COULDN”T slow down. Well, it is definitely something to work on.

The one thing I did learn yesterday and perhaps the silver lining to the whole experience was my baby’s calm demeanor. I am still shocked that she didn’t cry or fuss at the darkness. I am looking forward to taking the baby on twilight walks and I hope that eventually she will co-operate during night time.

-PG

3 Responses to “Is my daughter stronger than what I think?”

  1. meenasehar July 4, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    OFCOURSE!!!!Anini is a social butterfly and a very strong woman 🙂
    And it dint come as a surprise to me.I always knew it.
    Wishing you many more happy hikes 🙂

    • balanceoriented July 5, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

      R thinks that she was scared of the dark. I have a feeling you would disagree 🙂

      • meenasehar July 6, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

        she was DEFINITELY not scared.she enjoyed the hike.

Leave a Reply

