Time to visit the kitchen again

6 Jun

I am warning you, this will be a long-winded post. Read on!

I’ve not experimented in the kitchen for a while. My excuses

a) MIL is a great cook so there is no need.

b) I am lazy.

c) MIL loves cooking and I don’t want to deprive her of the opportunity . 😀 Am I lucky or what?

d) We’re going totally Indian these days and for some reason I prefer to bake cakes, bake other goodies, make sandwiches with everything, roast on stove top, roast in the oven ..you get the idea.

e)I don’t want to go in the kitchen and make regular dishes because that feels like a chore and let’s face it..that will be the case in 3 months time.

Anyway I can go and on forever but I’ve decided to try some stuff this weekend.

Last summer I used to try cooking with a vegetable out of my comfort zone. I tried some more in April and May. Some of my favorites:

  • Purple peppers
  • Heirloom Tomatoes
  • Swiss Chard
  • Kale
  • Bok Choy
  • Fennel Bulb
  • Leeks
  • Purple Cauliflowers
  • Acorn Squash
  • Spaghetti Squash (to be fair my mom came up with the idea)
I’ve been thinking about interesting vegetables etc..  I’ll probably pick up something that departs from my normal style and try it again.
Ideas swimming in my mind:
Baking / Roasting:
  •  Try a baked pasta with just 2 cups of cheese (I know that sounds like a lot but believe me,2 cups of cheese for a 9×13 inch pan is very little since it makes 6-8 servings)
  •  Make my fennel sandwich again but on a wrap. It gets interesting. I’ll probably try a lavash bread and see how it goes.

I am debating on whether I should try a squash or a green . If I go with the kabocha I’m thinking of making a soup . If I use the green I’ll probably do a salad .

If you have a recommendation please leave it in the comments (along with a recipe if you’ve tried it) .

-PG

4 Responses to “Time to visit the kitchen again”

  1. meenasehar June 6, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    Good thought abt the vegetables!Am going to shamelessly show up during dinner time.
    Am still thinking about that pesto sauce-potato sandwich..droool!!!!!Now you know you have to buy some extra bread to feed a poor pesto-sauce-potato-sandwich deprived family 🙂

  2. meenasehar June 6, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

    about the purple potato and purple cauliflower,I was thinking of making this :
    http://chefinyou.com/2012/04/aloo-gobhi-paratha/

  3. Meenakshi June 6, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    with kale you could try this…http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/aarti-sequeira/greens-n-beans-recipe/index.html

  4. balanceoriented June 7, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    Great suggestions folks!

Leave a Reply

