Repeat offender?

10 Mar

I wanted to do another post on my favorite things to cook. The orzo soup recipe is from Heidi Swanson of 101cookbooks fame. Its one of those things that can be thrown together in less than 20 minutes and is a meal by itself.

I try to vary the recipe each time by switching a different green(spinach instead of chard) , a different topping(grated carrot & onions for tomatoes) but keep the base relatively straightforward. A smaller pasta in a broth with a lot of flavor. Try this one folks. You’ll thank me later. I know I am grateful to Heidi for her splendid ideas.

5 Responses to “Repeat offender?”

  1. Meena March 10, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

    wow..is that all???am going to try this with some acini de peppe

  2. meenasehar March 22, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    Made this amazing soup for dinner last night.I skipped the egg drop.
    BTW,ur broth looks clear..which one do u use??
    i have tried atleast 3 different brands and they r all cloudy and tomato based..wher did u get urs?i got all of mine from WfM.
    PS: Kitty lovedddd it .Thanks.You made my day.It is stuffed pasta shell tonight.

    • balanceoriented March 22, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

      Aww..glad kitty enjoyed it. I also use the one from WFM but I use 4 cups of broth and 3 cups of water with 1 bouillon mixed in. This has 3 effects a) Makes the broth clear b) Have a stronger flavor c) Cost-effective (using 1 box of broth Vs 2).

Leave a Reply

